October 17, 2007
Process and Qualifications for a CCW Permit
The following are some notes on the Missouri qualification process:My wait time for a class was minimal, about 10 days. You can find a course on the web or just go to almost any arms dealer. The class was about $100, but NRA members and LEO’s get a discount. The course took about 6 hours and culminated in a written test and range qualification. (Take your pistol and 50 rounds with you – just not into the class room.)
Once you have your certificate, take it to the sheriff and get printed and fill out some final paper work. Call in advance to set up an appointment. Be prepared to write two separate checks. It will take about 2 weeks for your request to be processed. You will then take the endorsement to the DMV and get the actual license which looks very similar to your drivers license. DON’T FORGET (and for what ever bone-headed reason) they will not accept your drivers license as proof of self. I had to drive back home and get my passport. Call in advance to determine what you will need to bring. (Dealing with the DMV was the least appealing aspect of the entire process.) You will have to fork over about $15 more dollars for the license.
Our instructor strongly recommended that we get the license separate from your actual drivers license. For example, if it is on your DL and they confiscate your CCW, your are hosed.
*Renewals are $50 every three years.
This it the current Missouri Law for qualifying for a CCW:
Missouri Revised Statutes
August 28, 2006
Permit to acquire concealable weapon, requirements, contents–sheriff to issue, when, fee–ineligible persons–denial of permit, content –appeal procedure, form–violation, penalty.
571.090. 1. A permit to acquire a concealable firearm shall be issued by the sheriff of the county in which the applicant resides, if all of the statements in the application are true, and the applicant:
(1) Is at least twenty-one years of age, a citizen of the United States and has resided in this state for at least six months;
(2) Has not pled guilty to or been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year under the laws of any state or of the United States other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor under the laws of any state and punishable by a term of imprisonment of two years or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, firearm silencer or gas gun;
(3) Is not a fugitive from justice or currently charged in an information or indictment with the commission of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year under the laws of any state or of the United States other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor under the laws of any state and punishable by a term of imprisonment of two years or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, firearm silencer or gas gun;
(4) Has not been discharged under dishonorable conditions from the United States armed forces;
(5) Is not publicly known to be habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition; and
(6) Is not currently adjudged mentally incompetent and has not been committed to a mental health facility, as defined in section 632.005, RSMo, or a similar institution located in another state.
2. Applications shall be made to the sheriff of the county in which the applicant resides. An application shall be filed in writing, signed and verified by the applicant, and shall state only the following: the name, Social Security number, occupation, age, height, color of eyes and hair, residence and business addresses of the applicant, the reason for desiring the permit, and whether the applicant complies with each of the requirements specified in subsection 1 of this section.
3. Before a permit is issued, the sheriff shall make only such inquiries as he deems necessary into the accuracy of the statements made in the application. The sheriff may require that the applicant display a Missouri operator’s license or other suitable identification. The sheriff shall issue the permit within a period not to exceed seven days after submission of the properly completed application excluding Saturdays, Sundays or legal holidays. The sheriff may refuse to issue the permit if he determines that any of the requirements specified in subsection 1 of this section have not been met, or if he has reason to believe that the applicant has rendered a false statement regarding any of the provisions in subsection 1 of this section. If the application is approved, the sheriff shall issue a permit and a copy thereof to the applicant.
4. The permit shall recite the date of issuance, that it is invalid after thirty days, the name and address of the person to whom granted, the nature of the transaction, and a physical description of the applicant. The applicant shall sign the permit in the presence of the sheriff.
5. If the permit is used, the person who receives the permit from the applicant shall return it to the sheriff within thirty days after its expiration, with a notation thereon showing the date and manner of disposition of the firearm and a description of the firearm including the make, model and serial number. The sheriff shall keep a record of all applications for permits, his action thereon, and shall preserve all returned permits.
6. No person shall in any manner transfer, alter or change a permit, or make a false notation thereon, or obtain a permit upon any false representation, or use, or attempt to use a permit issued to another.
7. For the processing of the permit, the sheriff in each county and the city of St. Louis shall charge a fee not to exceed ten dollars which shall be paid into the treasury of the county or city to the credit of the general revenue fund.
8. In any case when the sheriff refuses to issue or to act on an application for a permit, such refusal shall be in writing setting forth the reasons for such refusal. Such written refusal shall explain the denied applicant’s right to appeal and, with a copy of the completed application, shall be given to the denied applicant within a period not to exceed seven days after submission of the properly completed application excluding Saturdays, Sundays or legal holidays. The denied applicant shall have the right to appeal the denial within ten days of receiving written notice of the denial. Such appeals shall be heard in small claims court as defined in section 482.300, RSMo, and the provisions of sections 482.300, 482.310 and 482.335, RSMo, shall apply to such appeals.
9. A denial of or refusal to act on an application for permit may be appealed by filing with the clerk of the small claims court a copy of the sheriff’s written refusal and a form substantially similar to the appeal form provided in this section. Appeal forms shall be provided by the clerk of the small claims court free of charge to any person: