October 10, 2007

Concealed Weapons. Why I chose to carry.

Posted in From My Gord at 3:00 am by Rid

I chose to carry a concealed weapon for two reasons:

  • The nature of my work potentially makes me a target for crime.
  • I feel that in a small way, I am protecting the second amendment.

Amendment II (the Second Amendment) of the United States Constitution, which is part of the Bill of Rights, declares “a well regulated militia ” as “being necessary to the security of a free State”, and prohibits Congress or any other government agency from infringement of “the right of the people to keep and bear arms.”

It is clearly a “right of the people.” Case closed. I feel that democracy is not a spectators sport and if we as individuals don’t assert our rights as citizens, then we deserve to lose those rights. In short, I am asserting that right.

Guy W. Midkiff

Leave a Reply

