November 15, 2007

• Biometric Gun Vault

Posted in Gear and Strategies tagged at 4:18 am by Rid

If you have small ones in the house and are looking for an added margin of safety when the gun is being stored, take a look at this biometric activated gun vault. (I have received no consideration from this company.)

From the site:

The GVB2000 Bio uses biometrics, specifically fingerprint recognition, to access the safe contents. A high-performance algorithm is used to achieve speedy identification of enrolled fingerprints; and at the same time has a very low False Reject Rate (FRR) for a given False Accept Rate (FAR). This self-learning algorithm of the GunVault Bio adds new minutiae to the fingerprint sensor, which decreases the likelihood of FRR, updates slight changes that might occur over time to an enrolled fingerprint, as well as to help distinguish variations between the enrolled fingerprints. System can handle a maximum of thirty fingerprint templates.

The price is $350. Well worth it, in my estimation.

UPDATE:  Here are some comments from around the web on this product. It would appear that the product is probably not the best choice for “instant” access to your weapon.

COMMENTS:

•I think it’s great technology, but I would always make sure the system had a back up key and that I always had it on hand to use if necessary. I worked for an alarm monitoring and installation company a couple of years ago that had state of the art biometric access equipment in their brand new building (I was one of their charter employees). We did full hand scans and some days I’d show up for work and it would take five minutes for it to get the scan right and let me in the door and those systems cost thousands of dollars.
•We had some and sold them all. They’re great and you can save/delete multiple finger prints giving several people acces.

•There were 2 things I didn’t like. It took several seconds to read your print and then open. It was probably my finger. They don’t take prints well either. 2nd was you could not immediately close the unit once it was opened. Had to wait upwards of a minute.

•They are good. Wouldn’t mind having something like this mounted on the floor in the back of my truck.

•It took several seconds to read your print and then open

•Kinda like, “6 sec to safety”?

•I wouldn’t call it that. In 6 seconds a bad guy can be on you and beaten you pretty good. An average person can walk 15′ in 1.5 seconds. An average person can run 30′ in the same time too.

•that’s why you should lock up all of your guns except for the one you keep out for defense (providing you take the proper steps for safety with kids etc)

•thats why you should lock up all of your guns except for the one you keep out for defense

•We’re talking about a handgun locked up in a vault. My experience selling a particular biovault was that it too long to recognize my finger print and open.

•I used to do auto body repair, back in the 70’s; and rarely had any finger prints because of all the wet sanding by hand. Doubt if anything could have gotten a good reading of my prints. laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page

•I used to do auto body repair, back in the 70’s; and rarely had any finger prints because of all the wet sanding by hand. Doubt if anything could have gotten a good reading of my prints.

•Mine are deteriorated due to similar work.

•I used to do auto body repair, back in the 70’s; and rarely had any finger prints because of all the wet sanding by hand. Doubt if anything could have gotten a good reading of my prints.

•Mine are deteriorated due to similar work.

•I have also sold several biometric devices and safes. If you are thinking about buying one, program your fingers or thumb into the unit or display and try it out. Some people’s prints for some reason just do not read properly. Remember, batteries go dead, electronics fail in catastrophic fashion and solenoids do bind, stick and corrode! Maybe a sticker, “Not intended for emergency use”, should be applied above the lock mechanism.
P.S. I currently have two small vaults I am using key bypass due to electronics failure! Out of warranty of course.

1 Comment »

  1. fastmetal said,

    FYI, I sent an email to this company and asked if it is possible that there are delays once you have attempted to activate the system.

    For what ever reason, that have yet to respond. The email was sent about two weeks ago.

    Fastmetal


Leave a Reply

